Recently two of our students attended the an awards ceremony at Northumbria University for the Schools Physicist of the Year 2017. Both students received the award of Physicist of the Year from the Ogden Trust and Northumbria University. The Trust’s aim is to maximise the opportunities available to young people in all parts of the UK’s educational system and is now focused on science, particularly physics. The Trust supports a range of initiatives, programmes and projects to promote the teaching and learning of physics.​
The ceremony was opened by the Pro-Vice Chancellor of Northumbria University, himself a Physicist, who talked about his life in Physics and the work that the University does. This was followed by an interesting short lecture from Dr Rodrigo Ledesma-Aguilar on Soft Matter Physics.
Winning the award for Year 10, Beth Harrison was nominated for her outstanding attitude, effort and attainment this year. While Emma Slater in Year 12 won the A-level Physics Award. Emma has worked incredibly hard this year and made fantastic progress.
Congratulations go to both students.